Spiritual Gardening

Gardening is an important aspect of my spiritual life and it’s a way for me to have a positive impact when it comes to caring for our planet.

sign

A few years ago, we had our property certified as an urban wildlife sanctuary through the Humane Society. Why?

Habitat loss is a major threat to our native birds. As a result, 50% of Connecticut’s native bird species are declining, and 17% are on the State’s Endangered, Threatened and Special Concern list. That is: 50 out of 290 regularly or annually occurring bird species in Connecticut are State-listed.

Bees, via pollination, are responsible for 15 to 30 percent of the food U.S. consumers eat. But in the last 50 years the domesticated honeybee population—which most farmers depend on for pollination—has declined by about 50 percent, scientists say. Unless actions are taken to slow the decline of domesticated honeybees and augment their populations with wild bees, many fruits and vegetables may disappear from the food supply.

What can you do? With a little effort, you can improve your property’s usefulness as a wildlife habitat, while at the same time preserving plants that are native to your state.

magicalpath

I ALWAYS wanted a house on a corner lot because of the landscaping opportunity. It is like having two front yards. When I first looked at our property, I could “see” a circular path in the side yard with a huge center garden and flowers growing along the retaining wall and spilling over the sides. I could see it. I wanted it. And I did it. LOL

gracklefeeding

benchwithflowersd

pathinspringwithchives

We started with a small rock garden that featured indigenous wildflowers, a birdfeeder and a birdbath. We expanded each year, adding plants that support bees, hummingbirds, and small animals.

The Humane Society will send you a nifty sign for your wildlife garden and meeting their criteria isn’t difficult. Just visit this LINK, read the info and scroll down to where it says “Get your sign.”

I use a lot of herbs in my spiritual/healing work and also keep fresh flowers on my altars. It was inevitable that my herb garden and flower beds expanded every year. As my grandma was an avid gardener, I dedicated my first herb garden to her and my other ancestors and asked them to bless my garden.

My gardens incorporate many things. My property supports wildlife and indigenous plants, I honor my ancestors and other helping spirits with beautiful outdoor spaces and ask them to bless my garden and my work. When I use my herbs and flowers to make oils, waters and powders I know there’s a lot of love there and that growing my own ingredients provides an excellent foundation for my path.

I had a friend send me dirt and a few stones from Ireland, where my maternal ancestors are from. I incorporated this dirt into my herb garden, along with dirt from my grandma’s backyard and dirt from sacred places around the world.

gargoyle

The garden is a wonderful place to pray, leave devotional offerings and perform healing ceremonies and prayer rituals. After a decade of pouring our love into this land, working with nature, remembering our sacred dead, offering our devotion to spirit…..well, this little patch of earth just sings with incredible energy. It’s such a pleasure to sit in the garden!

We also can our own veggies, jellies, pickles, sauces and soups with organic, heirloom ingredients.

Canning dill pickles from our garden harvest

prettygardeb

frog

toadhouse

Thanks for visiting! Hope you’ll get some time outdoors today!

Blessings!

garden may242013 026

32097_100449033335599_100001115072310_2642_1605759_n

Leave a Reply

